I am strong because He is strong. I am a child of God. I don’t need to draw upon anyone else. Everything I need is already within me. Instead of searching outside for strength, all I need to look within. It’s there, whispering, sometimes shouting.

-Little Posy

In attempts to heal and be well again, I depended on outside support. As I sought inspiration, anything to fill the void, I was always left feeling weaker. I looked to friends and acquaintances, only to feel further excluded. I couldn’t see wonder or beauty no matter where I looked. It was all insufficient, or just not “it.” My efforts in self reliance were unsuccessful. I was failing myself.

I came to realize, after medication was suggested, that in order to be healthy and achieve wellness, I need to care for myself. It finally occurred to me that I need to eat well, exercise,and rest in order to preserve and grow myself. Self care is not a luxury, it is a must for me to be well. No one else is qualified for this job. I needed to hire from within. In order to be well I must invest in ME. So I started.

After months of not exercising, I took that run outside through the quiet neighborhood streets. When I started, I didn’t know how far or how long I would be able to sustain my slow jog, but I didn’t limit myself. I honored my body and encouraged my mind. At the end, I surpassed all of my expectations. Half way through this exercise, I had already gained the mental clarity that yielded this epiphany. I had found my drug.

The acceptance of limitations is necessary for progress, but not after first accepting the challenge. It is all God given. One may not fully reach his/her given potential unless the challenges are accepted. I discovered that failures and limitations can be great teachers, but should never be assumed.

If I am a child of God, so are you. Listen to your gifts. Honor what He has given and explore all of your potential. Take a moment,
listen to those whispers, and begin.
We must remember that each of us owns strengths that are God given, worth nourishing, and therefore our true gifts are strong and indestructible.

