This is NOT a chain. This is a gesture of mine in attempt to reach out and DO something to create positivity and kindness. As I challenge you, I am challenging myself to come out of hiding.

If you are like me, I’ve been feeling very disconnected lately. With the election season, tragic world events, fast paced living, and pseudo interactions, I can’t help feeling that we’ve lost the connection to one another. I miss conversations that go beyond pleasantries. I miss personalization when mass contacts have become the norm. Ironically, the more social networking we do, the less connected we are becoming. I’m observing that this may be leading to increased judgement that focuses on our differences, instead of our similarities. We are all in this world together. It’s time to reconnect.

So, I challenge you to connect this holiday season. Send a text, or personalized message, to someone you miss. Give that long lost friend or family member a call. Leave a hand written note of encouragement to someone who you know needs some love. That person who you take for granted, let them know how you appreciate their spirit. Maybe contact an acquaintance you’ve been meaning to get to know better. A good deed, a lunch date, a smile, or a compliment; no genuine act of kindness is too big or small.

