I find myself mentally prepared and ready for investment and renewal.  I’ve done my preparation and now I’m ready to put the realizations and lessons into practice. I haven’t been diligent in my self care lately.  I haven’t exercised as I should, and I’ve been careless with my diet.  My emotional and mental health have struggled.  Looking back, I recall that when this happens, it usually calls for rebalancing and grounding. Enter the season of Lent.

As a converted Catholic, I enjoy Lent. The schedule of extra masses and participation of Stations of the Cross can be undesirable as the weeks accumulate.  However, I find this time very productive in terms of growth, grounding, and spiritual connection.  It has a way of clearing out the mental and spiritual clutter that accumulates after the holidays.  It’s a time to come back to the New Year resolutions after the daily grind has worn them away. In past years I’ve given up tv, social media, and chocolate.  Other years I’ve added prayer and devotional time. Much like my resolutions, I don’t always fully achieve my Lenten goals, but I finish the season better than I started.

This year I’m choosing 6 goals. Yes, this is a very lofty list.  A few are common place, and a few are new, but necessary additions.  Hopefully after Lent has passed, I will have gained mental clarity, spiritual grounding, and a healthier body.  With my mind, body, and spirit renewed, I hope to find a more peaceful and balanced lifestyle.  I wish you a meaningful Lent.  Peace be with you throughout this Lenten season.

