In the quiet. Here I sit alone in the house. Alone. No one here to tend to. There’s no fighting amongst the children. No dinner to throw together. The chores are on hold. I am alone. Just me, and I couldn’t be more thrilled!

It’s been a very busy, exhausting schedule for some time. Daily life has been grinding me down. Although the pressures have worn me down, the discomforts make me question and push me to look deeper. It’s now in the quiet that I hear whispers of God kindly reminding that all is well.

Sitting, resting without any demands I can see what I’ve lost sight of. I can see that I got lost in the busyness. Snuggles, giggles, and smiles went ignored in lieu of deadlines and obligations. Homework, grades, and extracurricular activities ranked over meaningful conversations.

Yes, our lives are overbooked, and we crave more frequent, deeper connections. But it’s here in the quiet that I find my appreciation despite the hustle. When we rest, we are able to regain our strength and vision. Here in these few moments, my awareness has awakened. My heart has rested. I am reassured that I’m not failing miserably at life. I am open to truth and rejuvenated by my blessings.

“The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still”
(Exodus 14:14, NIV)

